Interview with Diana in Sesto Calende

Do you like our content? We are supported by community readers like you. For just €2 a month, you can have unlimited access to all the articles, the discussion and classified ad functions; and you can help us to keep the web server up and running and produce new contents.

City? Sesto Calende

Date of Interview? April 26, 2005

Let us know a little about yourself?
I am married to an Italian, and getting ready to go back to school to become a make-up artist. I also attended a school for cosmetology.

Why did you decide to move to Italy?
I first came here in 2001 to work with horses. I then met a wonderful man with whom I am now married to.

What type of process did you go through to be able to move here?
Well, I did not have any visa or any kind of permit at first. So when I left my job, I stayed low until I got my Pd's. And after those, I got married (not for the visa!).

What problems did you run into during the initial process and how were you able to fix them?
After leaving my job, I went back to the states for what I thought would be at most a month and a half to get a permesso to work as a type of an au pair for senior citizens. After 5 months, there was still no word, and for the umpteenth time, said that they would have the 'numbers' in october (this was july). So, I said forget it, I had not seen my fiance for 5 months, and I came back.

How long have you been here?
4 years

What type of adjustment problems have you had?
I finally have learned the language, I am just trying to deal with the slowness of getting things done!

What do you wish someone had told you before you made the leap ?
That not everyone speaks english. I had thought that before, but my boss had said that the language is not a problem... yeah right!

What inside secret could you pass on to others looking to move over?
You must be patient!

Do you have any disappointments, things you thought would happen but haven't for whatever reasons ?
Well, I had thought that I would go on working with horses (didn't happen), that I would live with my in-laws for at most a year (3 years later and still with them), and that I would never ever live in a little 100m2 apartment.

What has changed about you since you have been here ?

Do you think that you will stay forever?
That is my plan.


Home page

Web design ©2015 Lincoln Han.
Powered by TimeEdge® EnInvia contact and content delivery system.