Interview with Caipirina in Torino

Do you like our content? We are supported by community readers like you. For just €2 a month, you can have unlimited access to all the articles, the discussion and classified ad functions; and you can help us to keep the web server up and running and produce new contents.

Name: Caipirina

Date of Interview: September 29, 2006

Area of Italy you live in?


Let us know a little about yourself?

Married, one kid (2), me German, wife Japanese, kid born in Fiji (but not a Fijian citizen)

Why did you decide to move to Italy?

Wife's job

What type of process did you go through to be able to move here?

Was all arranged through wife's HR.

What problems did you run into during the initial process and how were you able to fix them ?

The language barrier, the fact that hardly anyone speaks English.

How long have you been here?

over a year

What type of adjustment problems have you had?

Language. getting used to cold weather again. Not having a car (crazy traffic) and relying on public transport. Mail getting lost.

What do you wish someone had told you before you made the leap?

Don't expect anyone to speak English, start studying the language as soon as possible

Do you have any disappointments, things you thought would happen but haven't for whatever reasons ?

Dissapointed in European service mentality and bureaucracy. No food delivery (at least here). Tired of pizza and pasta by now. Hard to socialize as a stay at home dad (seems to be a strange concept for Italians

What has changed about you since you have been here ?

Learnt quite some more Italian .. but far from enough.

Do you think that you will stay forever?


Can you think of anything that you would like seen added to this site?

still exploring


Home page

Web design ©2015 Lincoln Han.
Powered by TimeEdge® EnInvia contact and content delivery system.